Agriculture trainee searching for place to learn!

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums The Front Porch Our Member’s Map Agriculture trainee searching for place to learn!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    HeleneMeden
    Participant

Hello
    I am a Danish student in ecological agriculture and I am looking for a farm where I can do 4-6 months of practice – and learning how to use draft horses in the field. Can anyone recommend something?
    Thank you in advance.

Helene

daniel grover
    Keymaster
    dominiquer60

http://www.mofga.org/Programs/FarmApprenticeships/tabid/502/Default.aspx

If I had a place for you to stay, I would be interested in having you at my farm.

• This reply was modified 8 years, 2 months ago by dominiquer60.
    dominiquer60

Helene,
    The 2 websites above with bring you to lists of farms looking for apprentices (temporary jobs where learning skills and culture is emphasized). Daniel’s link is to apprenticeships on draft animal powered farms, my link is to farms in the state of Maine that belong to the largest organic farming organization in the states. There are many different farms to choose from if you know where to look. In Maine some have forest or fishery elements to the businesses.

What is your interest in? Raising animals, large scale agriculture, vegetables, grain crops, fiber animals, small scale agriculture, dairy, or a little of everything? Eco-agriculture is a large topic. Narrowing it down will help us help you.

Erika

Brad Johnson
    Participant

Helene-
    We take a summer season apprentice starting in late May, though most of our horse work is working in the woods – logging. If that is of interest, get in touch and we can chat about it. There are lots of wonderful apprenticeships around for field work with animals, depending on what you are after.
    -Brad

HeleneMeden
    Participant

Thanks to you all!