brad cameron dvd’s

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Mules brad cameron dvd’s

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    josboy
    Participant

i see this guy advertising in western mule……..are his dvd’s worth getting ?
    i’m new to long ears but not horseflesh….got a couple in the yard [6yr old molly and 10 yr horsemule]…greenbroke and scared of humans. i would like to do something with them….located central arizona.
    appreciate any comments

Donn Hewes
    Keymaster

You said you were new to long ears but not to horse flesh. Have you been driving and working horses in harness or other? We all have our own definitions of what is broke and what is green broke, etc. For me a mule that is scared of humans is not broke at all. That relationship is the basis for all training. Good luck and go slow. No help on the video, unfortunately. Donn

J-L
    Participant

I’ve not heard of him. I can tell you I’ve had to deal with mules like you’re describing though. If a mule is afraid of you you’re going to have to get him over that first.
    I’d heard that you couldn’t do much with an aged mule but have found that not to be true. I took an 8 yr old maremule who was only broke to lead and had her pulling a feed wagon (she’s hooked to it now) in not too much time. She was tame though, and kind of a people lover.
    I had another mule that was really wild and it took some time, but she did come around and made a decent pack mule and we rode her some. She was a chore though and I spent LOTS of time sacking her out and getting her to trust me. Once she figured out I wasn’t going to eat her, she was pretty much okay with anything I did with her.
    Take the time to get them gentled down, and you can’t possibly sack one out too much.
    There is a really fine line between gaining trust, being a pushy pet, and discipline with a horse and I think even moreso with a mule.