buying my first riding mule-advice?

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Mules buying my first riding mule-advice?

• This topic has 5 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 12 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello.

I am buying my first mule who I intend to use as a backcountry riding animal, possibly a pack mule. He has done both of these things. I have a lot of horse training experience and I am hoping to work on this mule’s holes–he is leery of the bit and sticks his head up when you use it, and he’s a little barn sour as far as I can tell. I’ll be changing his bit to something that fits and has moving parts and sweet iron or copper. I figure I’ll work with him how I know to but I’d like any advice on these topics or in general in terms of approaching him with different training techniques. How is working little kinks out of a mule different than with horses?

Thanks for any help! I want to be well informed so I don’t make mistakes. I am gentle but assertive in my handling.

HeeHawHaven
    Participant

Never abuse your mule. It’ll never forget. Take your time, let it think, always end training on a good note. If its barn sour and runs back hoe, spur, whip, circle at the bar then ride it farther. Away and then relax when it’s away from the barn. Make the barn the not happy place. The mule forum is a pretty good place to share and. Learn too.

http://muleskinners.bb3host.com/index.php

Dave

J-L
    Participant

I agree with Dave. Your mule has to mind you but you need to not cross the line and make him scared of you. Timing is everything on discipline, but you have to have it.