educate me about mule bits

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Mules educate me about mule bits

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    JDeereGn
    Participant

I am new to working teams. I recently purchased a pair of 6 yr old Belgium mules. They came with rusty straight O ring bits. I am having new harness made and need to select the bits. From what I see there are tons of them available. What are the pro’s and con’s of the different types; straight, snaffle, Liverpool, military, curb chain, etc. Thanks Ralph

Donn Hewes
    Keymaster

Hi John Deere, Big question, What are the mules like? Have you driven them? How much driving experience do they have? What kinds of work do you want to do with them? Short answer – If they are working well and know how to do their job, buy the same bit only not rusty. Otherwise you might want to consider some other factors before you change bits. My two cents.

Mules wear a bit for the same reasons a horse does; and the same variations based on teamster preference, driving stlye, and animal temperment will determine what bit each uses. Donn

Gabe Ayers
    Keymaster

I would go with the military elbow bit, it is adjustable and you can use it as a
    straight bit or with leverage if you need to adjust there forward rate of travel.
    It is the only bit we use on all our horses, except a couple with egg butt snaffles that are really soft mouthed, but a draft animal can run away with anything other than a lever bit and sometimes even with those. Try them individually in an enclosed area first and then put them together after you have a feel for how they go with what you put in their mouth.

Ronnie Tucker
    Participant