Fertilizing with Manure

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    offgridbrandon
    Participant

I am new to organic gardening, but excited about the change. A neighbor is willing to ‘share’ manure from his chicken coop and goats. The chicken manure is mixed in with straw from the coop and has been composting for a year. Are their any health concerns about using manure for fertilizer? How long should it be composted before being used in the garden? 😮 and for the question I am most embarrassed to ask, does one type of manure need to compost longer than the other?

Any responses would be appreciated!

Crabapple Farm
    Participant

Yes, pathogen contamination can be a concern with using manure for vegetable crops. It is more of an issue with crops like spinach or lettuce than, say, eggplant, which washes clean and you cook before eating.
    Proper composting will kill pathogens, but “aging” alone might not. My basic rule is, if it seems like there’s still shit in there, don’t put in on your food. It should look, feel, and smell like compost, not manure. Feel is important – if you aren’t willing to handle it with your bare hands, it ain’t ready.
    The Federal Organic Standards (we’re Certified so I’m up on them) require waiting 120 days after incorporating manure in the soil before harvesting a crop, or 90 days if the harvested portion is not in contact with the ground (such as sweet corn, well mulched tomatoes, etc.). That time period should be sufficient to allow soil-dwelling microbes to kill off any pathogens present in the manure. (that’s for manure, not compost)