Harness Fit Opinions Wanted

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Horses Harness Fit Opinions Wanted

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    CanoeTomah
    Participant

We bought the harness shown in the pictures a few years ago from an Amish harness maker.
    In the past we have used it mainly to pull logs or a wooden sled.

We are trying to use it with the forecart and will appreciate advice for improvements.
    Apicture standing and one underway.

The harness is nylon and came with snap in shaft holders, which do not connect under the girth.
    They are about 2 feet short from connecting.
    The leather belt I added thinking the shaft holder straps should keep the cart shafts from lifting up.
    Horse is my sons 14 hand Lippitt Morgan mare.

Have been reviewing old post and like the level of information here.
    Thanks!

Eli
    Participant

Looks like fun. My harness has straps that keep the shafts from lifting up. Im not an expert but I’m sure someone will help. I have a Morgan that drives in a breast collar type harness but I need a 18-20 inch collar so I can harness her up and play in the woods. Eli

jen judkins
    Participant

Looks pretty good. The top of the britchen could come forward abit. The flat piece at the top of the britchen should sit in that flat hollow ahead of the rump. The shaft loops look like they could be a bit lower or snugged down a bit. Definately need a belly band for the shaft loops. You could likely order one from meader supply.

CanoeTomah
    Participant

Great just what I was looking for, we will adjust the britchen the next time out.
    The shaft loops just snap in with no adjustment to lower.
    Something could be rivited together to allow adjustment.
    I’ll look on Meader for a belly band.
    All, suggestions greatly appreciated.

We have another horse we would like to add into a team.
    I see a lot of adds for used haflinger harness are they about the same size.

Thanks

grey