Horses with Loose Stools….advise needed

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Animal Health Horses with Loose Stools….advise needed

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Theloggerswife
    Participant

I am probably worrying about nothing like usual, but I need to ease my mind with your help! Both of my drafts have a mild case of diarrhea. For a lack of better words, my husband explains it as – the usual road apples (poop) then a squirt of loose stools.

They are in the same pasture, same minerals, same grain, same water source (running brook). I wormed with ivermectin on November 24th and haven’t seen a change. They still eat and act fine.

Maybe I should confine them to the corral and the run in/run out for a bit and see if it is something they are eating in the pasture? As always…any advice you have is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

jen judkins
    Participant

Missy, As a physician I tend to be over observant in regard to bowel movements, lol. And since I pick of most of the manure on the property for composting, I pay more attention than most. I have noted that alittle extra water in the poop is common for this time of the year, particularly with my belgian. I think it is a GI response to the change of forage…at least in my own herd. In general, I don’t worry unless the pile is very flat (ie soggy) and is persistently so. If the buns are well formed, all is generally well. I feed alot of probiotics during the change of seasons and all seems to improve in a matter of weeks (though it might improve without the intervention as well).