In My Library

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Carl Russell

Titles of the most important books in my library;

The Draft Horse Primer, by Maurice Telleen. Excellent review of many important aspects of working with horses.

The Work Horse Handbook, by Lynn Miller.

Training the Teamster, by Les Barden. Great little book covering starting and working cattle.

The D-Ring Harness a video by Les Barden. Excellent coverage of the fine details of the functionality of the D-ring Harness.

Natural Horse-Man-Ship by Pat Perrelli.

Youatt on The Structure and the Diseases of the Horse Published 1860

I have a wide collection of Eric Sloane titles.

I will expand with more later, What’s your library look like? Carl

Patrick
    Participant

Was it an unintentional omission to leave out Oxen, A Teamster’s Guide by Drew Conroy? As a novice, I can’t imagine a more clear, thorough explanation, short of an actual in person lesson. It left me confident with the knowledge that I could successfully start a team, or a single, raise and train them to accomplish all of the basics, without needing to refer to any other source. A volume that is so complete is rare for any single book today, on any subject.

Plowboy
    Participant

One book I would recommend that was written around the 1920’s is Biggle’s Horse Book. It is a small paperback and will run about $7 online. It is full of common sense and good horse and mule info including training advice from an era when horses and mules ruled the farms of the USA.
    We also have a variety of books on horses and equipment by Maury Telleen, Lynn Miller, Sam Moore, and others but the Biggle’s book is little known and they also have a series for each species of livestock cattle, sheep etc.

Rod
    Participant