Introducing horses to a new farm

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Working with Draft Animals Introducing horses to a new farm

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Mark Sisk
    Participant

I’m a complete beginner. I have two questions. I have purchased a team of fairly well trained Haflinger mares each around ten years old. I plan to bring them home shortly. Are there things I need to be alert to when I introduce them to the farm (I have good fences). The second question is can I let them in with two heifer calves the youngest of which is 6 months old?
    Thanks for any advise you have to give to me.
    Mark

JaredWoodcock
    Participant

I have had my best luck with spending a lot of time developing a relationship with the horses before I move them. That way when they encounter all of the new things they will defer to me as their comfort zone.

As for horses and cows, introduce them to each other from a distance over a fence. If there is any doubt that they wont get along when you join them, make sure they wont have to compete for resources; IE plenty of pasture space, two stock tanks, multiple hay feeders. When introducing any new animals I usually try to guess which ones will be dominant and which will be subordinate. Put the dominant animals (halflinger mares) into the subordinate’s (heifers) pasture, that way the heifers will have the upper hand with being comfortable with the pasture and the mares will have plenty to check out before they start pushing the cows around.

My last haflinger was a real cow pusher, he would settle in fine once they all sorted it out but he definately drove some cows through fences.

Take this all with a grain of salt but maybe it will help.

daniel grover
    Keymaster