Keeping Going Mowing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Howling Farmer
    Participant

This is my first time posting here, although I’ve been reading for a couple of weeks.

A few weeks ago I started mowing with my horse and am hoping someone might be able to offer some advice. My problem is keeping my horse going, and my question is twofold – first, how to tell if I’m asking too much, and if not, how to keep him going.

Milt is an eight-year-old haflinger, a hefty guy, somewhat overweight. Since spring, he has been worked regularly but lightly (some days all he has to do is move a 50 lb. goat shed a few hundred feet.) In the past, most of work he has done is short cart rides (3 miles or so) or hauling light loads short distances, although he has plowed a bit (both snow and dirt), and done some logging. We are using a New Ideal single horse mower with a 4-ft. cutting bar.

When we first started mowing, he almost instantly started balking at mowing taller, thicker grass. When I tried to mow hay (first cutting, fairly thick), he would go a short distance, then slow down to a crawl, clog the mower, and stop. I would then unclog the mower, and the scenario would be repeated. Other than mowing, I do my hay by hand, so when he mows hay, he only has to mow for 10-15 minutes or so.

Last weekend, it seemed like we were making progress. Friday we clipped his sacrifice area, which was basically only a few weeds, and he kept going pretty well. Same thing on Saturday and Sunday with two more pastures (one another ¼ acre and one about ¾ acre). Monday we mowed hay – fairly thick first cutting, but only two passes about 250 feet each, mowing in the slightly downhill direction. Only one clog at the end.