oversteering

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Tyler Fournier
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m just learning to drive. We have an 8 year old Percheron mare, Coconut, and one thing I’m working on is driving in a straight line. Right now we tend to wander……a lot. To give an example, we’ll be strolling along in a straight line when she decides she’d like to head back towards her pasture area. So, she begins to wander in that direction (let’s say it’s to the right), I notice (probably too late), and I give left line pressure. She usually continues to wander, and I continue to increase left pressure. Eventually she is still wandering to the right with her head turned almost completely left in response to the left line pressure. Immediately thereafter she turns left, and before I know it she has done a 180. My goal was to steer her back to the left back onto our “straight line”, but now we’re headed back where we came from. This happens often, so I know to expect it, but even so I’m having trouble correcting it. She is definitely testing me and my inexperience, so I figure spinning her in a 180 is better than letting her wander where she wants. I do realize that ideally this is a “hands on the lines, develop the feel and anticipate” type of thing to learn, but was just wondering if anyone may have any pointers.
    Thanks!
    Tyler

dehutch
    Participant

Hey Tyler,

I found even though I had riding experience, driving can be quite a bit different. It could be helpful to get some personal instruction if you haven’t had any. This could be at a driving clinic like the GMDHA has every year or with a mentor like Ted Russell from Sudbury. Steve Bowers book Farming with Horses has a section on single horse driving, harnessing etc. If I remember correctly your mare was advertised here on DAP and she was being used in a commercial operation, perhaps the seller could give you a hand as well.