Roaring?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Kristin
    Participant

Brought a new team of belgians home a couple weeks ago. They are a mare and a gelding, somewhere around 12-15 years old, and out of condition. Took them out to disk for the first time this week and after two passes the gelding sounded like he was having an asthma attack — a whistling, wheezing noise on the inhale, so loud one of our guys heard it from halfway across the field.

A neighbor pulled up and said, “His wind’s broke!” But he’s not coughing, not noisy on the exhale, no sign of runny nose or infection, and it stops when he’s rested. Is this roaring? And if it is, what can I expect from him as far as work goes?

-Kristin

cherprit
    Participant

Hi Kristin,
    I’m no expert, but I did have a cross country horse years ago that was wind broke and did just fine. that said, here is Dr. Beth’s answer (from rural heritage). She is a wonderful vet that even emails you back!

Response by Beth Valentine, DVM, PhD at 2004-09-18 16:05:15