Spring Clean up

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    jen judkins
    Participant

Its been warmer than usual for February here in central NH, so its got me thinking about spring….we’re getting more snow tomorrow, so I doubt this thought will last too much longer:rolleyes:.

I was thinking about my first set of chores for the spring and how Peanut might help me with them. So I was wondering what some of your spring clean up ‘to do’ lists look like. Mine is mostly how to clean up or spread manure buildup in the winter paddocks. This year I am gonna re-seed a portion of my pastures as well. Never done that before, so I’m triing to sort out the best time to do it. I’ve been told that seed can be sown in the late winter before the thaw if weather permits, but its still unclear to me when that is ideal. Anyway, I’m a relatively new farmer and eager to learn more. What is the first thing you all do in the spring?

Keep in mind…as a task oriented person, I suffer through the mud season when you can do very little and being in the northeast, I have to wait till June to plant my garden, so I really need a constructive list of things to do in that limbo period or I will go MAD!

Donn Hewes
    Keymaster

At least I can get your thread back to the top. I have used frost seeding with good effect. I seems to work best with the legumes, clover and trefoil for example. Grasses do a little better with more bare earth or tillage. The nightly frosts are supposed to set the seeds in contact with the earth, but harrowing large acreage with a team, or single horse, is great easy spring work, and will only help the seed. Early spring grazeing can also be used to set seed. One of my pictures in “horses and mules” is of a team of four up harrowing in the early spring. great fun. As for clean up, if I haven’t done it by spring it will have to wait. I hope you are having fun with Peanut. Donn

jen judkins
    Participant

@Donn Hewes 6075 wrote: