Team Creation

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    CanoeTomah
    Participant

First this is a great site.
    We have one horse that is harnessed trained and has pulled logs, carts, and sleds. I have started training another horse to drive and to date have had her pulling logs and a conveyor mat. How long should I continue to train her single before trying to hook the two together? She has only pulled stuff a few weekends.

I have no team handling experience. What would be some good 1st steps or things to avoid in trying to hook them together the 1st time? What would you hook them to for the 1st time? Any help you can throw out to a beginner will be appreciated.

Thank You

• This topic was modified 9 years, 1 month ago by CanoeTomah.
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Rivendell Farm
    Participant

Hi,
    I suspect you could try them together most any time now. I wouldn’t pull anything with them at first. Just ground drive them and see how it goes. You might consider fastening them together at the rear so they can’t swing apart until they get used to walking parallel to each other. Also make sure you have a good set of properly adjusted team lines. That said, I must admit my training skills are limited, though I have worked horses for many years. You may yet hear from others with ideas. Bob

Donn Hewes
    Keymaster

From the horses perspective working in a team is easier than working single. You can probably put them together when ever you want. I like to start horses single so they connect with me and not take directions from the team mate. But it doesn’t take very long before they are ready. I like to see them calm and relaxed, before I move on to each new thing.

She looks very calm in these pictures. I am wondering if she has sort of a check rein as part of the bridle? I wasn’t sure from the photo, but if that was a check I would loosen it so the horse can let her head down as she works.