The End of an Era

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Carl Russell

Today I built an alter for my horses. The mare, near thirty, has been on the farm since 1987. I stopped working her this last February when the snow got too deep. She has been having trouble swallowing, and lost a lot of weight this winter.

The gelding came to the farm as a three month old stud colt in 1993. A couple of years ago he slipped while pulling a loaded bobsled, and was never the same since. The injury caused his pelvis to rotate, and the internal irritation eventually manifested into an infection that was too deep to treat effectively. i would work him off and on over the last couple of years, but he didn’t come through this winter well either.

I have been hemming and hawing for two years about what I should do with these horses. I have fulfilled a lot of plans at the helm of that team. But as we look ahead with all the things on our plate, and the uncertain times ahead, it just came to me the other day, that now was the time.

Until then I couldn’t make up my mind where to dig holes, or who to hire, or when to arrange with the vet. But all at once it was clear that I needed to take them up into the woods where the ledges are covered with thick hemlock. The rock outcrops are terraced, with little passageways around the steep rock faces, and points that jut out through the saplings to provide overlooks to the valley below.

We started out from the barn just before the sun started to warm the air. Although they weren’t in harness they moved as well as they could in their respective conditions, as they had hundreds of times before. The gelding, always willing to work, pushed up the incline like he meant business. The mare, nonchalant as ever, nipped and nibbled on branches as we climbed. As she munched a fresh spruce twig, my senses were overwhelmed by the smell of the pungent sap.