The need for good working horses

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Horses The need for good working horses

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Carl Russell

We keep getting contacted by folks looking for good medium sized work horses, that are level headed and workable. As we expand opportunities for people who want to have working animals, we need to develop a strong network of resources that can provide the kinds of animals that will contribute to positive development of the industry.

Gabe Ayers
    Keymaster

Hello DAP people,

We are always getting the same request for good horses down in Virginia. Of course being breed specific in my own operation I tend to have more connections to Suffolk horses. I have been raising and working them for about thirty years now so I know where quite a few are. We keep two stallions on the farm and breed as many mares as we can find of any breed. We actually have many more crossbred horses working in the woods with our group of practitioners associated with Healing Harvest, than purebreds or registered horses.

Among our purebred gelding Suffolk horses I am somewhat proud to say that none of them are registered. I have never understood how someone that actually worked a horse would have the extra money to register a gelding. Seems like money wasted in a few of ways. The first being the cost of registration, second the cost of membership to the association that registers the horses and the third being any transfer fees for buying a horse from someone that has a registered one. I suspect there are folks that disagree for their own reasons.