This is my first message. I am new at this.

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Oxen This is my first message. I am new at this.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Amanda
    Participant

Hey,

My name is Amanda and I am a student at Green Mountain College in Vermont. We have a team of Guernsey oxen and I am doing an independent study working them. I am currently training them how to drive from behind. Does anyone have advice about how to go about doing it in the best manner? My farm manager & I have began training them together. They certainly aren’t the easiest team to work. We have had inconsistent management on our farm resulting in poor oxen training and working. I took on the independent study because nobody makes time to work the boys. They are about 5-6 years old with bad habits that they have developed over the years. I would love to hear back from multiple people. Thanks for your time,
    Amanda

Carl Russell

Greetings Amanda, I think if you look at the oxen thread under “driving oxen” you will find discussion to this point.

However I will toss some stuff back at you. First I think it is important for you to think about why you need to drive them from behind. If they are difficult to deal with, then you will gain much more by working out in front of them until they are smoother, and follow your direction and commands better. This is also, I feel, the best way to train them to be driven from behind. As they develop a consistency of execution you will be able to step back and start following them, as you increase their ability to respond as well to voice as to goad.
    Good luck, Carl

Amanda
    Participant

Hey,