Training a donkey

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Lane Linnenkohl
    Participant

Do donkeys respond to controlling movement the way horses do? Can a person use some of the same techniques typically employed in a round pen on a donkey with success?

I have a friend who has a donk and has asked me for advise on training. I know what I would do with a horse, but I have no experience with a donk.

Thanks for any help

Lane Linnenkohl

Rod
    Participant

We have worked in a round pen with our donkeys and also have a couple of donkey training videos that use round pens. One of them says you can use the same techniques on horses so it sound like the same procedures will work either way although I have never trained a horse so can’t say from experience.

Robert MoonShadow
    Participant

When I got my pack donkeys years ago, my neighbor tried to round-pen them for me (I had to be right on them to control them), but he ran across what I later found to be a common occurrence w/ donks… they get bored really easy & once they “get it”, you need to move on quickly. So, roundpens work – as Rod indicated – but too much will cause problems, too. My problem was solved by the simple expedient of just getting to know each other & building trust. I’d suggest having your neighbor contact American Donkey & Mule Society at http://www.lovelongears.com –> they have videos, books, and their magazine “The Breyer” = all focusing on long-ears.