2012 ag census

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Marshall
    Participant

A few weeks ago I recieved a 2012 ag census that got put on my dresser and forgot. A couple days ago I recieved a post card reminder saying it is required by law and if I don’t answer I will be contacted by phone or mail. That is all fine and well but what ticks me off is the note in bold letters. “If this form does not apply to you because you have never farmed, are no longer farming, are a small operation, etc., YOU SHOULD REPLY, so we can update our records and avoid further contacts. So what they are saying is that I am a small farmer and I don’t count. Sound like discrimination to me. I wonder what MLK would think.

dominiquer60

We got the Census too, rather my partner did, and he owns 4 horses that don’t live on the property. I don’t see it as a personal attack against farmers but rather, like Sam they somehow found your name associated with a farm name. In Sam’s case his name is associated with his fathers farm name and we are assuming that is how he got on the list. He helps his father farm and proudly displays the name on his hame covers and the USDA caught wind and wants to double check that he does or does not farm. They are trying to avoid wasting time money on someone that doesn’t make money for the IRS is how I see it. On the flip side, if they catch someone that has not been include in the census before and should, then they have their additional info that they are seeking.

I am going to ask a friend who ought to know more about this than either of us.

Marshall
    Participant