Harness modification.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Paulk
    Participant

Hey I was wondering if some one could tell me if a harness that was originally for a team of percherons that are 18.1 hands and 1800+ lbs would be able to be modified to fit a 15.3 hand 1200 lb mule and if its worth doing. There are a couple sets at a farm sale I’m going too and I think they will probably go pretty cheap, one of them is a show harness and the other a work harness. Forgive me if this is a foolish question but i am fairly new to draft equine and the harness I have is a leather and nylon that someone pieced together, not pretty but works.

grey
    Participant

Partly depends on what style of harness they are. D-ring, no. Fore-tugs would be too long and it’s an undertaking to have them shortened. I don’t have experience with Yankee/hip britchen harness but I’m guessing it might be similar to Western/box britchen in size range and fit concern. It also depends on what size range the harness was designed for. There are a few different general size-ranges out there but it really varies by harnessmaker. If the horses that wore the harness were at the upper end of the intended size range, then it might fit your mules with little necessary alteration.

If the “show harness” is a for-real SHOW harness it will have a back pad/back band of a type that may not work with smaller equine. If the “show harness” is just a nicer parade type harness with the standard kidney-shaped back pad, then carry on.

Also, in my years of shopping second-hand harnesses, I have learned that just because it was used on 1800lb horses doesn’t mean it fit them! 😀 Short answer is that you’re just going to have to measure it.

Collars and hames obviously won’t fit.

Bridles probably won’t fit (depends on the style of bridle and what kind of head your mules have).