Training them to Stand

DAPNET Forums Archive Forums Draft Animal Power Mules Training them to Stand

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    MNMULE
    Participant

So a question for all of you out there. I was wondering how you trained your teams to stand. I have a team I have been driving for three years now and they will stand pretty good for the most part. I use them a lot and have had them on a ton of wagon trains used them a lot of hours so I’ve kind of been thinking this would be something that would come naturally. It seems like though just when I think they are going to stand, they won’t. Usually one mule will just start to walk off for no reason and of course they both try to leave then. I am used to this because its pretty typical for them and so I never have had any near wrecks or anything because I’m always close to the lines or in the wagon. I guess my question is, is there something ya’ll do to reinforce standing and not moving until they are told otherwise? I know there must be some trick out there extra to help them know what they are supposed to do. I have brakes on my wagon and if I have them locked up and they start to walk off they’ll stop as soon as they feel the wagon not moving. I don’t always have brakes though on every vehicle and don’t want to have to count on these. This is about the only fault I find with this team right now. I really like them but would like to fix this bad habit they have.

Donn Hewes
    Keymaster

There have been lots of posts about standing in the past. I don’t know how easy it would be to search them. Lots of folks have different ideas about standing. First of all I really doubt there is “some trick” out there. I think there are a lot of steps that going into making a team stand well.